About IDIA

We warmly welcome you to the ‘Indian Doctors in Australia’ (IDIA) website.

IDIA is a non-profit support group for Australian doctors of Indian origin. We are proud to have representation from the diversity of medical fields such as General Practice, Radiology, Intensive Care, Physicians and Surgeons etc.

We offer opportunities for professional, educational and social networking, whether it is for a GP center looking for a geriatrician for its clinics, or simply seeking expert opinion.

An important objective of IDIA is to provide mentoring for career establishment and training pathways for newly arrived Indian Doctors and at the same time to provide support during the challenges of the cultural transition period.

We also emphasize an apolitical and secular approach whilst celebrating Indian festivals. This will enable members and their families to interact socially and introduce the younger generation to the joy and sense of community purpose that these events bring into our lives.

Moving forward, we want to use this platform to uplift the needy, back home as well in Australia, especially in areas of health and literacy as well as providing aid in times of crisis.

We look forward to having you aboard.

IDIA Executive Committee

Dr Surjit Tarafdar


Dr Surjit Tarafdar works as a General Physician and Nephrologist at the Blacktown hospital in Sydney.

Dr Sunil Rai

Vice President

Dr Rai is a medical oncologist based at Tamworth and also sees patients in the Armidale Cancer Centre.

Dr Rajiv Rattan

General Secretary

A good for nothing greying balding middle-aged fellow with a pronounced paunch. Jack of a few non-descript trades.

Dr Manish Kumar

Assistant General Secretary

I am a General Practitioner. I have recently moved to Australia and have been in lockdown since.

Dr Shakti Dabholkar

Joint Cultural and Social Secretaries

Dr Shakti Dabholkar is a final year Respiratory Advanced Trainee at Liverpool Hospital, Sydney.

Dr Archit Chawla

Joint Cultural and Social Secretaries

Dr Nithya Priya

Joint Treasurers

Dr Balaji Kalaband

Joint Treasurers

Dr Urmi Jethwani

Trainee Representative

Dr Urmi Jethwani is a final year BPT at Westmead Hospital. Urmi, a former tutor for AMC exams is interested.

Dr Dhawal Ghelani

Executive Committee Member

Dhaval Ghelani is the Director of Intensive Care, Norwest Private Hospital, Sydney and Senior Intensive Care Specialist.

Dr Varun Randhawa

Executive Committee Member

Dr Randhawa is a GP in SouthWest Sydney. He has a background of undergraduate Science and Commerce.

Dr Manoj Gupta

Executive Committee Member

Dr Lakshmi Kalaband

Executive Committee Member

Dr Joydeep Mandal

Executive Committee Member

Dr Jaydeep Mandal is a physician in a rural hospital.

Dr Prasenjit Roy Choudhury

Executive Committee Member

Dr Ahmed Shahir

Executive Committee Member

Scroll to Top